Newsletter 15 January 2016

Newsletter – 15th Jan 2016

We still need volunteers to help with the Chinese New Year (please see Annie – tickets on sale also) and here’s news of the Infants first trip to Whitehall…          

Chinese New Year

Chinese New Year celebrations will once again be held in church on Saturday 6th February from 6 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. This will include a Chinese meal (the menu includes spring rolls, prawn crackers, chicken curry, spicy beef, spare ribs, sweet and sour chicken and spicy liver as well as fried rice) and a fireworks display. Tickets will be on sale soon priced £10 for adults, £5 for children and £25 for a family ticket. All proceeds will be going to school, so come along, bring friends and family and join us in our Chinese New Year celebrations. Many thanks to Li Ming and Fred who have very generously agreed to put this on for the school. Any volunteer helpers should make themselves known to Mrs Adams. Li Ming has asked for the loan of large cooking trays (like those used to roast a turkey), steamers and slow cookers. Again, if you have these, please let Mrs Adams know. 

Whitehall

Final payments are now due. Please see Mrs Adams for details of your final balance. Any children who have not registered their interest should do so asap with Mrs Adams. Please note that we have arranged for the remaining children to go to Whitehall for the day on Thursday 25th Feb to take part in some outdoors activities.

Infants Climbing

The Infants spent their first session at Whitehall yesterday and had a whale of a time. Unfortunately we don’t have the photos yet, but we will pass them on next week. 

Charity Assembly

Our friend, Mrs Hofman, is lucky enough to be going to Cambodia to help build a school there next month. She will be coming in to our school on Tues 26th Jan to talk to the children about it and we will be having a Non-Uniform Day that day and asking for a £1 donation to help raise money for the Guy’s Trust charity which Mrs Hofman will be working for. 

Diary Dates

Infant climbing – Fri 22nd Jan, Mon 25th Jan, Mon 1st Feb, Mon 8th Feb

Chinese New Year celebrations – Sat 6th Feb

Break up for half-term – Thurs 11th Feb

INSET Day – Fri 12th Feb

Back to school – Mon 22nd Feb

Whitehall week – Mon 22nd Feb – Fri 26th Feb

Whitehall day – Thurs 25th Feb

Junior trip to Chesterfield on Fri 4th March (more details to follow)

Visit from the Bishop of Stockport – Mon 7th Mar

School closes for Easter hols – Fri 24th Mar

Back to school – Mon 11th Apr